Welcome to my new blog…from Michael Quinlyn-Nixon

Hello Reader and welcome to my blog.  This blog wouldn’t have been possible if it hadn’t been for the help of my very good friend Cherry.  It’s hard to sum up the last twelve-years and all of the hard work and effort that went into creating the twelve Bear-a-thought calendars.  I didn’t realise at the time of producing the first teddy bear calendar, in 2002, that it was the centenary of the teddy bear, since its creation in 1902.  Now I reflect on it, it is a lovely and happy coincidence (if I believed in coincidences!).

Image

I started my first teddy bear illustration ‘A Well Earned Rest’, during a short visit from Cherry to my home in 1999.  I wasn’t aware at the time that it was going to be the start of a twelve-year occupation, that was going to take the lion’s share of my spare time, weekends and holidays.  I had no other plans than to create a couple of teddy illustrations for my nieces, but later a former school friend of mine, Diane, suggested that I also used the illustrations to produce a limited-edition and unique calendar of my drawings.  I dedicated my first illustration to my grandparents, Georgina and Henry Lake, as it included a gardening theme and they were keen gardeners.  My Grandfather Lake, a wonderful and kind man, was the inspiration for including the ladybird in the illustrations, as I recall fond memories of collecting ladybirds (from a nearby marshy area of Tanfield Lea) which he would utilise to keep his beloved roses aphid-free.  Ladybirds have from that time evoked memories of my special grandfather.  Spotting the ladybird (pardon the pun) in each illustration has – I have been told – occupied the mind of many an infant child (their parents have praised me for it!).  The ladybirds have also become my ‘signature tune’, resulting in many people from many different countries sending ladybird items and souvenirs from the far-flung corners of the world.  Because of this an image of a ladybird has become the main feature of my new logo and artistic venture.  Being a symbol of good luck, I really couldn’t have chosen anything more appropriate…

2 thoughts on “Welcome to my new blog…from Michael Quinlyn-Nixon

    • I look forward to adding your ladybird to my growing collection. I am sure that it will go rather well with the Ringtons tea mugs (decorated with a ladybird) that you gave me last year. Hope we can meet up soon and catch up with each others’ news. x

Leave a Reply

