Ingrid Bergman – A Portrait

Ingrid Bergman, Actress, b: 29 August 1915 – d: 29 August 1982

I remember watching movies starring Ingrid Bergman from being a child. I recall seeing her afraid of her husband’s suspicious behaviour in one black-and-white movie and the suspense it created within me. In all of her movies she seemed to possess a striking complexion of an almost luminous quality. I think there were very few actresses that had ‘that look’.

I’ve seen Ingrid Bergman, mostly, in the film ‘Casablanca’ with Humphrey Bogart and her flawless features, along with the famous line…”Of all the gin joints, in all the towns…” is one of the most memorable aspects of the movie.

Ingrid Bergman for blog

Of course, I’ve seen many more of her movies, including ‘The Bells of St. Mary’s (1945), with Bing Crosby; ‘The Yellow Rolls Royce’ (1964), with its all-star cast and her very memorable characterisation of a children’s missionary worker in Agatha Christie’s ‘Murder on the Orient Express’ (1974).

This portrait of Ingrid Bergman, created by using very small dots, was done by-hand and took many hours of patient and careful work. It was one of a number of movie star portraits that were featured in a small, private exhibition in Liverpool. The feedback of the portraits was very good, at a time when I was just trying new techniques. Perhaps that is one of the reasons that I couldn’t quite bring myself to sell the majority of the pen-and-ink originals…

After I had typed all of the information, above, I looked up the name ‘Ingrid’ which is a Scandinavian name, derived from Old Norse. One of the interpretations of the name is ‘Beautiful and Fair’. With regard to Ingrid Bergman, it really couldn’t be more accurate…

3 thoughts on “Ingrid Bergman – A Portrait

  1. Hi Michael, I showed this to my husband and son and they thought it was fabulous, though my son Jack has never heard of Ingrid Bergman. Excellent portrait. xx

    • Thanks for the great comment Deborah; I’m really pleased that this Ingrid Bergman portrait has impressed your husband and son too. I grew up watching these iconic actors and actresses in old black-and-white movies and still love them. You can’t beat a bit of film noir… Thanks again, Deborah. Michael x

Leave a Reply

