Thoughts On – Musical Inspiration

Over the last two-months I got to see two of my favourite singers – Mary Chapin Carpenter and Kiki Dee, along with her amazing musical partner and guitarist, Carmelo Luggeri.
Mary Chapin Carpenter ticket - 30 September 2014 (Q8)forblog      Kiki Dee and Carmelo Luggeri ticket
It was great seeing these ladies (and a gentleman) ‘live’ as I have often produced illustration after illustration (often working until the early hours of the morning) whilst listening to them. Some music has gone-the-journey with me, as I have been a fan of Kiki Dee since I was a teenager (which was more years now than I care to reflect on). I remember buying the LP of ‘Perfect Timing’ in the early ‘80s, after saving what seemed like a considerable amount of pocket-money. It was well worth it and even now I still love this Kiki Dee album (although the LP has long since gone and been replaced with a CD).  I’m also a big fan of the new albums , which Kiki and Carmelo have worked on together – ‘Almost Naked’, ‘The Walk Of Faith’, ‘A Place Where I Can Go’

Music really inspires me, and if I am listening to Simon and Garfunkel, Nanci Griffith, Carrie Newcomer, Miriam Stockley, Eva Cassidy and the two ladies above (the list could go on), I know that I will be inspired. Sometimes it’s just a certain song that gets right to your heart. I tend to have favourite songs by nearly all of my favourite singers, but ‘This Shirt’ is one of my favourites by Mary Chapin Carpenter. I love the way that the story unwinds about this much-loved and well-worn piece of clothing. Mary Chapin Carpenter has got a fantastic voice to tell the story.

A newcomer to my musical collection (pardon the pun) is Carrie Newcomer. I am smitten with her songs too. Can anybody listen to ‘Betty’s Diner’ without getting tears in their eyes? It’s great hearing the lyrics about people, from all walks of life, all congregating in the same place and being looked after by a caring and wise waitress, called Melinda.  I will have to do a post on favourite songs on another occasion…

Just want to say a big thank you (out there) to the musical artists that have inspired me over the years… Kiki, Crystal, Belinda, Wanda, Nanci, Trisha, Mary, Emmylou, Eva, Carrie…I salute you!

Songs that I would recommend (to anyone!):

Kiki Dee: ‘How Glad I Am’ (put your dancing shoes on beforehand), ‘Loving and Free’, ‘Song For Adam’, ‘One And Only Love’‘Into Eternity’, ‘There’s A Need’ and all of her hits: ‘Don’t Go Breaking My Heart’, ‘Star’…  I would run out of (cyber)space if I listed them all!
Emmylou Harris: ‘Boulder to Birmingham’, ‘If I Could Only Win Your Love’‘To Know Him Is To Love Him’. Great songs!
Mary Chapin Carpenter: This Shirt’, ‘Down In Mary’s Land’, ‘Quittin’ Time’ (I am listening to that right now!)
Carrie Newcomer: Before And After’, ‘Betty’s Diner’, ‘There Is A Tree’
Eva Cassidy: ‘Fields Of Gold’, ‘I Know You By Heart’, ‘True Colours’…  Wonderful singer!
Miriam Stockley: ‘Arcadia’ and so many more… This lady has a fantastic voice.
Nanci Griffith: ‘Once In A Very Blue Moon’ and ‘Late Night Grande Hotel’ and many more
Belinda Carlisle: ‘Summer Rain‘Heaven Is A Place On Earth’
Simon and Garfunkel: ‘Homeward Bound’, ‘Scarborough Fair’, ‘April Come She Will’
Tracy Grammer: ‘April Come She Will’, ‘Gypsy Rose’ and so many others…
Wanda Jackson: ‘I May Never Get To Heaven’, ‘Silver Threads And Golden Needles’ and many more…
Trisha Yearwood: ‘On A Bus To St. Cloud’ (one of my favourites!)
The Carpenters: ‘Top Of The World’…(you should hear me sing it!)

Doris Day       A childhood favourite actress/singer of mine (and worthy of her own post)

4 thoughts on “Thoughts On – Musical Inspiration

    • You really wouldn’t, Deborah, there would be some definite regrets! ;0) It would have been bad enough hearing me sing when we were in assembly at school! At one point, several years ago, I was nearly persuaded by my friend, Marylou, to appear on ‘Stars In Your Eyes’, but common sense prevailed. Having said that…I do manage quite a good Elvis impression…x

  1. Music has always been a source of comfort and joy for me too, Michael; maybe not inspiration, because I am not an artist like you are. And although our musical tastes are very different, I see a lot of artists in your list that have been performing for a long time. Maybe it’s just my nostalgic disposition (or maybe it’s early onset dementia ;o), but I often find myself listening to music from the 70’s, when I was in my teenage years and thinking “those were the days my friend…”
    P.S. Can you post a video on FB of your Elvis impression? :o)

    • Thanks for the feedback, Peter, and the request for the video of my Elvis impersonation (I am working on that as I type!). Be warned world at large! I think music is very nostalgic too. I can’t listen to Jim Reeves without thinking of my Grandmother Nixon; the tune ‘Scarlet Ribbons’ brings her to mind as soon as I hear it. Kiki’s and Belinda’s music reminds me of my teenage years and there’s something nice when listening to them again; brings back so many memories. Did you know one of Kiki’s lovely songs is called ‘Peter’; perhaps you are an inspiration too…

Leave a Reply

