Sarah – Girl’s Birth Picture

This month I received a commission for a birth illustration from my youngest-ever customer, Sarah. Only twelve-years-old, Sarah has used her birthday money to commission from me a bespoke illustration. I was delighted to receive this work, as I have known Sarah for many years. I had asked Sarah to think about what elements she would like included in the picture and if she had a particular colour scheme that she wanted me to work to. Having had her bedroom freshly decorated, Sarah provided me with a piece of the colourful wallpaper that she wanted to match her illustration with. Elements that were required were, “lots of pugs and girly things”. That was a good brief…I knew exactly where I was going.Sarah complete(lighter)forblog
I sketched out the illustration last week and set to colouring it this week. I have enjoyed drawing the pugs, which are a breed of dog that I have not drawn before. I wanted to have these little canines in various positions and doing what dogs do if left unattended for too long! So, the picture includes chewed shoes, tampered with make-up and a string of sausages that are being wolfed down in haste. I also wanted to do the pugs various sizes, so they looked like a family unit.
Wallpaper
Matching the coloured-pencils to the wallpaper (above) was interesting, as I had to blend some of the colours to get the required hues. I had to write down the combinations of these colours, and I also gave them imaginative names such as ‘Acapulco Sunset’ (orange), ‘Mushy Peas’ (green), ‘Pretty Polly’ (pink).

At the time of uploading this blog post, Sarah hasn’t seen the final piece of artwork, but I do hope that she will be happy with the commissioned artwork and that it will go admirably in her new and fashionable bedroom. Thank you, Sarah.

Leave a Reply

