Christmas Eve – Bear-a-thought Illustration

Christmas Eve has got to be one of the most exciting days in the calendar year, as so much work and effort has gone in to the festive preparations. Excited children await to see what Father Christmas has brought them and eager parents await the joy they hope to see in their children’s eyes on Christmas morning.

I have for many years enjoyed the expectation that arrives with Christmas Eve and to enjoy this much more than the actual day of Christmas. There’s something exciting about the promise of Christmas Day that I find rather magical.Christmas Eve (for blog)
The ‘Christmas Eve’ bear-a-thought illustration was one of the first illustrations that I created for my first-ever calendar which was produced in 2002 (the centenary year of the teddy bear). I had just decorated the tree when I did the preliminary sketches and took some photographs to work from. This was the first teddy bear I was ever given, and was presented to me by my Grandmother and Grandfather Lake, so was the ideal choice for my first teddy bear Christmas illustration. Along with the teddy, is the hand-painted angel decoration from Cologne market (mentioned in my previous post) and a homemade fir cone decoration. I tried to create the warmth of Christmas in this illustration with a slight fireside glow to the image. I loved drawing all of the patterned wrapping paper, but got the needle (pardon the pun) whilst drawing all of those prickly branches…

Looking back at this illustration, which I produced over twelve years ago, it takes me back to my childhood – with real Christmas trees (that shed needles everywhere) and real open fires which warmed us on cold and frosty mornings. It brings back memories of waking up tired parents at ‘silly o’clock’ in the morning, because I couldn’t wait to see what presents lay ‘nestled’ under the tree for me and my siblings.

I am sure that the exciting spirit of Christmas Eve continues to glow brightly in those that are young…and those that are not so young…and will do for many generations to come….

Merry Christmas and thanks for reading my posts throughout 2014.
Michael

2 thoughts on “Christmas Eve – Bear-a-thought Illustration

  1. What a beautiful post and a wonderful illustration, Michael. It really conjures up memories of days long gone by. I remember well how much I cherished my first teddy bears (which luckily I still have) and how excited I was before Christmas to see what presents Santa had left for me and my brother. I don’t think it’s possible to re-live those days, but especially at this time of year I try to count my blessings and not my failings, with a little help of some furry friends… ♥

    • Thanks for that, Peter – especially as it’s Christmas morning… I am really pleased that my picture conjured up lots of special memories of yours and your brother’s Christmas days…

      I still have my first teddy bear (the one in the picture), who sits on a little step near my bed… He’s got a few more friends now, including a cuddly tiger and a handmade giraffe, called Glenys!

      Have a great Christmas – you and the bears – and keep counting those blessings…x

Leave a Reply

