Thoughts On – Eighty-Eight

The number eight, for as long as I can remember, has always been my favourite number.  I am not sure why it was, but if I were to think about it…it would probably be to do with the fact that it’s pleasing to the eye.  It’s really two circles placed on top of one another.  Eight has no hard edges and is a friendly, warm shape.  A friend of mine, who was involved in analysing handwriting for large companies and police bureaux, told me that people who favoured the number 8 were generally very kind and approachable people; the kind of people you would want to hug.
88ducklingsbyMichaelQuinlyn-Nixonforblog
Eighty-eight in Gill Sans font

I have always loved handwriting, but many of my friends have noticed that when I write a number 8, I don’t do it it as one continuous movement.  I have always drawn one circle and then the other below (rather like the duckling diagram).  I have only ever met one other person who has done this and she was a graphic designer, called Kylie.  Another friend, Jennifer, told me that this form of writing out the number 8 is often used by technicians or draughtsmen, so perhaps I am in the wrong job!
88bunniesbyMichaelQuinlyn-Nixonforblog
Eighty-eight in Times font

Now, if you’ve read my earlier posts, you will know that I also love same-digit double-numbers, so it’s no surprise that the number 88 should find favour with me.  You may also be aware that today is the 88th day of the year!  So, today I printed out some 88s and had a little play with them, doodling and colouring them.  Today my friend, Marie, has just given me some rather nice Easter gifts and this probably led to the fact that two of the doodles are ducklings and rabbits.  The third doodle is of girls with rather 1950’s looking beehive hairdos and make-up.

88ladiesbyMichaelQuinlyn-Nixonforblog
Eighty-eight in Giddy-Up font

Everyone will no doubt know that in bingo-calling terms that the number 88 is often referred to as ‘two-fat-ladies’, but here are eight rather interesting facts about the number 8 that you may be interested to read and may not have known…

  • 8 is a composite number and it is also the first number which is neither prime or semi-prime.
  • 8 is the base of the octal number system, which is mostly used with computers and digital media.
  • The ‘figure-of-eight’ is often used in sporting terms, such as skating, but can also relate to the way that bees fly and communicate messages.
  • 8 is symbolic of new life, the final Resurrection and the anticipated resurrection that comes from baptism.  The number 8 in the Bible represents a new beginning, meaning a new order or creation, and man’s true ‘born again’ event when he is resurrected from the dead into eternal life.
  • There is also a visual resemblance between two digits, “88”, and 囍, the “shuang xi”  (“double joy”), a popular decorative design composed of two stylized characters 喜 (“xĭ” meaning “joy” or “happiness”).
  • Infinity is shown as a figure 8 on it’s side and symbolises a never ending cycle, as there is no start or end to the shape.
  • 8 is an auspicious number in many Asian and Chinese countries and is the number associated with wealth and abundance.
  • The summer olympics in Bejing commenced at 8-seconds and 8-minutes past 8pm on 8 August 2008 (08.08.08).

Perhaps I should issue this blog post on the eighty-eighth day of the year, at 08:08pm and watch the money and abundance come rolling in!  Watch this space…

2 thoughts on “Thoughts On – Eighty-Eight

  1. I have always thought of the number 8 as my ‘lucky’ number. I loved the facts about the number 88 and especially the accompanying illustrations with their font.

    • Thanks for the feedback, Maureen. It’s good to hear from another fan of the number 8! I was choosing the fonts to doodle on and thought of you and the book you had just purchased. So, great minds think alike. Really appreciate the feedback, thanks again. Michael :0)

Leave a Reply

