Giraffe – Mother and Baby Illustration

I have very vivid childhood memories of my mother, Carole, sitting with me dangling on her knee, drawing giraffe after giraffe for my amusement. If it wasn’t a giraffe being drawn, it was an elephant. Being a toddler at the time, I couldn’t pronounce these words properly and just made ‘raffs’ and ‘lints’ my simplified version of these words.
Giraffes for blog
I find giraffes the most fascinating creatures, with their beautiful patterned skin, long elegant necks and fantastically long eyelashes, not to mention their furry ossicones. I hadn’t done any watercolour paintings for a long time and looked through a large pile of photographs to see if there was anything that inspired me. I found this picture of a giraffe mother and child and decided to paint that. Some artists take ages to do a watercolour, but I usually find that I do them fairly quickly. I can spend a large amount of time on one coloured-pencil illustration, but I do not seem to be able to produce them quickly, whereas with watercolours I can see a picture come together much more quickly.

The above illustration was submitted to the campaign for One Million Giraffes (www.onemilliongiraffes.com). I couldn’t possibly not have contributed to that, now could I? And, just in case you’re wondering what my Mum’s drawings looked like – here’s one I scanned earlier…
Giraffe drawing by my Mum(cleaned up)

2 thoughts on “Giraffe – Mother and Baby Illustration

    • Thanks for that lovely comment, Peter, I think the love between animals is so very powerful, particularly with parents and their offspring. This is one of the reasons why I find it so difficult to understand how anyone can hurt such beautiful and fascinating creatures. Totally appreciate you taking the time to put your personal message on my blog – thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

